Posted by: jjiral | June 20, 2014

Motivation is Loosing Weight!

Woohoo!  Down 16 pounds in twelve days.  I am so excited.  Low carb, low sugar is really working for me.  that’s what I need to stay motivated…..I need instant gratification to stay motivated and for me lower numbers on the scale is what I need to stay motivated. 

The main change I’ve made [other than no bread, no sugar, and no alcohol (except for the ounce I taste during the wine tasting classes I teach)] is preparing lots of salad stuff in advance.  Actually, I was a bit lazy because I purchased small containers of chopped bell peppers, celery, green onions and radishes.  I also purchased a large container of salad greens (mixed Italian blend and baby spinach) and a head of romaine.  Then I make a large salad for lunch with all these goodies and add some protein – this week I de-boned a rotisserie chicken so I’ve been adding about 1/2 cup shredded chicken to my salad.  Then, since I’m limiting carbs and the salad dressings I have in the house right now are low fat and ‘light salad dressings’ have added carbs, I made my own Atkins recipe creamy Italian….so flavorful and so good. (I’ll share the recipe at the end of today’s post). But, seriously having all these ingredients ready to just throw into a big bowl makes it easier to whip up a salad for lunch….or anytime.

Following are some more great tips that I copied from the Atkins blog:
Abide by these ten tips, and you’ll make your goal weight your lifetime weight.
1. Rely on satisfying foods. Protein, healthy fats, and lots of fiber .

2. Don’t skimp too much on calories. Starvation will lead to a slower metabolism.

3. Remember the magic number. Never, ever let yourself gain more than 5 pounds without taking action to restore your goal weight.

4. Keep sipping. Drink plenty of fluids. Don’t confuse thirst with hunger.

5. Steer clear of trigger foods. You know which are your personal trigger foods.

6. Keep moving. Staying active with some sort of exercise will increase the likelihood that you’ll keep your weight under control. Build more muscle and you will burn more calories.

7. Eat before you go. will take the edge off your hunger and make you more able to resist inappropriate items on the buffet table.

8. Take it with you. When at work, on the road, or even at a movie, pack snacks .

9. Compromise when necessary (and learn from the experience). When there are no good options, make the best choice available.

10. Prepare, prepare, prepare. If you’re eating out check the menu online beforehand.
If you are on the road, pack some hand held food like nuts to keep you fortified.

Atkins recipe for Creamy Italian Salad Dressing (serving size 2 Tablespoons on a meal size salad)
1/2 c. mayonnaise (no sugar) Atkins recipe below
1/2 c. white wine vinegar
1/4 c. grated Parmesan
1 garlic clove, minced
2 t. dried Italian seasoning
1/4 t. red pepper flakes
1/4 t. salt
1/4 t, black pepper
2 T. chopped fresh parsley (or dried parsley)
Whisk mayonnaise and vinegar in a medium bowl. Stir in Parmesan, garlic, Italian seasoning, pepper flakes, salt, pepper and parsley until well blended. Let stand 5 minutes. Use right away or refrigerate in an airtight container for up to 3 days. Stir before using.

Atkins Mayonnaise
1 large egg yolk
2 t. fresh lemon juice
1 t Dijon mustard
1/2 t. salt
1/8 t. pepper
1/2 c. olive or canola oil
Combine egg yolk, lemon juice, mustard, salt and pepper in a medium bowl; add oil in a slow and steady stream, whisking constantly until sauce is very thick. Serve right away, or refrigerate in an airtight container for up to 4 days. If mayonnaise is too thick, stir in 1 – 2 teaspoons water to thin.

Remember Atkins does promote adding GOOD fats to your diet. I’ve found that my average calorie count per day has actually been around 1500-2000 even while eating this salad dressing, cheese and even bacon (or turkey bacon). It’s important (even on Atkins style diets) to limit fat consumption when trying to loose weight, but your digestion does need some GOOD fats to work properly. I’m not always going to ‘make my own’ salad dressings but I was out of my favorite (no carb, no sugar, no fat salad dressing) which I’ll share later and all the ‘light dressings’ I had were laden with soybean oil, extra carbs or even some sugar. I decided to try this (next will be oil & vinegar dressing) and the flavor is go amazing that a mere 2 T. is more than enough on my super-sized salads.

Enjoy those wonderful summer salads!!

Leave a Reply

Categories

