Posted by: jjiral | June 24, 2014

Summer Salads make Eating Healthy Easy

Who doesn’t enjoy a great salad? And since it’s summer all those veggies are fresh and just challenging us to make them shine. Now I know that Fruit and nuts really put salads on stage but I’m limiting my food choices right now omitting both of them. So, my super salads are all veggie and protein.

First, I start with 2 cups mixed salad greens. This week, I selected a field green mix with baby spinach and added Romain lettuce to the mix. The result, a colorful blend of textures, shapes and textures. Next, I added 1/4 cup each of chopped red and green peppers, chopped celery, chopped green onions and a few halved cherry tomatoes and sliced mushrooms. The colors just feel so festive. I added about 1/2 cup shredded rotisserie chicken and 2 T. freshly made Creamy Italian salad dressing loaded with herbs and tangy lemon juice.

The flavor combination is quite a treat. I really don’t know why I don’t eat like this all the time. I love creative, colorful salads. But reading over suggestions that other people have written, I guess it’s because it takes effort. Others suggest having all your salad veggies chopped, sliced, torn – just ready and waiting for salad prep. Why haven’t I ever listened to that advice before? OK – here’s my tip…..Make sure you have the salad fixings ready to just throw into a bowl. If you do this in advance salad prep is easy. And like me, you just might head for the quick healthy meal before making a sandwich or ordering a pizza.

Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

Categories

