Posted by: jjiral | July 11, 2014

Planning is the Key to Successful Eating

You’ve heard the quotes, ” You are what you think you are’ or ‘The future depends on what we do in the present’ (Mahatma Gandhi).  Well, transforming your eating habits requires the same dedication and planning.  Yes, that is so true – and so simply common sense but NOT easy to do in our fast paced lifestyle.

Success starts with stocking your kitchen with healthy foods, seasonings and condiments.  But we don’t want to be wasteful, so menu planning is key to knowing what perishables to buy.   How many of you actually plan your menus for the week?

Well, I know I didn’t do that in the past (unhealthy lifestyle past, that is) but I do now…granted somewhat informally.   I know I need to get even better at doing this (a little more formal planning) because I NEED variety in my meals to be happy.  And, I have to confess I am getting a bit bored with my evening meals.  You see, I have learned that I eat because I love the taste of good food – not just sustenance.  That’s why I have to develop a new eating lifestyle to balance my love of food with a healthy weight.

So, today I decided that since I ‘planned for chicken’ tonight, I need a new recipe to add that variety I am craving.  So, here’s today’s recipe compliments of ‘Dr. Atkins’ Quick & Easy New Diet Cookbook!

Chicken with Lemon and Capers

2 T. Olive Oil

1 1/2 pounds chicken cutlets

2/3 c. white wine

2 T. fresh lemon juice

2 T. drained capers

2 t. lemon zest

3 T. chilled butter, cut into pieces

1.  Heat the oil in a large, heavy skillet over medium heat until hot but not smoking.  Add the chicken and cook, turning once, for 3-4 minutes on each side, or until browned.  Transfer the chicken to a plate and keep warm.

2.  Add the wine, lemon juice, capers and lemon zest to the skillet and bring to a boil, stirring and scraping up any browned bits from the bottom of the pan.  Simmer for 2 minutes.  Whisk in the butter, a piece at a time, and cook over low heat for 1 minute.  Return the chicken to the pan to heat through.

3.  Thansfer the chicken to a serving platter.  Pour the sauce over the chicken and serve immediately.

Yields:  4 servings; Per serving; carbs: 1.5 grams; Net carbs: 1 gram; fiber: 0.5 grams; Protein: 40 grams; Fat: 18 grams; Calories: 353; Phases: 1-4

I think (since I have frozen chopped kale), I will serve with a side of Kale with garlic with some halved cherry tomatoes for color, and a green salad.  Sounds good to me!

Enjoy!!!!!!

 

 

Responses

  1. Great post thanks for sharing this


Leave a Reply

Categories

